Construction Blogs and Resources

blog logo cmiThe list of blogs relevant to the construction industry has grown exponentially since the first Construction Marketing Ideas blog posting in October, 2006.

From the beginning, I have sought to link to any relevant blog (without expectation of reciprocation). In recent years, as the number of blogs has increased, I’ve tightened the rules somewhat. Blogs need to be established for at least a few months, updated at least weekly, and contain useful and relevant original information to qualify for free listings. If I sense the blog’s primary purpose is search engine optimization, I will invite the person posting to purchase a sponsored link/listing.

Construction Blog listings

If you think your blog qualifies, please feel free to email me at buckshon@cnrgp.com. Of course, while reciprocation is not required, I certainly appreciate your linking back to this blog!

Business management and consulting

Association of Professional Builders (Australia) http://apbbuilders.com/latest-articles/

Chief Architecture Blog (for Chief Architecture users and design professionals) http://www.qualityplans.com

E-Quip Blog (Mel Lester) http://www.blog-bizedge.biz

The Gordian Group blog http://www.thegordiangroup.com/Blogs

On My Mind (Craig Galati) http://www.craiggalati.com/Craig_Galati/On_My_Mind/On_My_Mind.html

Markup and Profit Blog (Michael Stone) http://www.markupandprofit.com/blog

PSMJ Resources, Inc. A/E/C Pulse blog http://go.psmj.com/blog

Public Contracting Blog (Mike Purdy) http://publiccontracting.blogspot.com

Tradesmen Insights (John Sonnhalter) http://tradesmeninsights.com

Construction lawyers

Best Practices Construction Law (Matt DeVries) http://www.bestpracticesconstructionlaw.com

Construction Law Monitor http://www.constructionlawmonitor.com

Colorado Construction Litigation http://www.hhmrlaw.blogspot.com

Construction Law Monitor http://www.constructionlawmonitor.com

Construction Law North Carolina http:// www.constructionlawNC.com

Construction Law Musings (Christopher Hill)  http://constructionlawva.com

Elmore Goldsmith Hard Hat Blog (NC and SC) http://www.elmoregoldsmith.com/hardhatblog

Green Building Law Update http://www.greenbuildinglawupdate.com

Home Contractor vs. Homeowner (Andrea Goldman) http://www.andreagoldmanlaw.blogspot.com

Maryland Condo Law Blog (Raymond Burke) http://www.marylandcondolaw.com

Virginia Real Estate, Land Use and Construction Law http://www.valanduseconstructionlaw.com

Insurance and bonding

California Contractor Bonds http://www.californiacontractorbonds.com/blog

AE Blog: Hall and Company http://www.hallandcompany.com/blog

Surety1 Bond Blog https://surety1.com/surety-blog

Surety Bond Insider http://www.suretybonds.com/blog

Regional and local construction industry blogs (retail/consumer)

3R Trinity Renovation (Modesto, CA)  http://trinityrenovation.com/blog

Advanced Home Energy http://www.advancedhomeenergy.com/blog

AEC St. Louis http://aecstlouis.com

Ask Mike about Home Remodeling (Medford Remodeling, Arlington, TX) http://askmikeabouthomeremodeling.com

Atlanta Home Improvements http://www.AKAtlanta.com

The Brand Constructors (Louisiana) http://brandsunderconstruction.com/blog

Building Arizona http://www.buildingarizona.org

Buildrite Construction Corp. (Atlanta, GA) http://buildrite.wordpress.com

Burgin Construction Inc. (California) http://www.burginconstructioninc.com/blog

Hal Collums Construction (New Orleans) http://www.halcollums.com

Homeowners Resource Center (SLS Construction) http://blog.sls-construction.com

Leff Construction Design-Build http://www.leffconstruction.com/blog

LM Concrete Garages blog (UK) http://www.lmconcretegarages.co.uk/myblogs

Massachusetts Builders blog http://www.buildingconfidence-llc.blogspot.com

New Life Bath and Kitchen http://www.newlifehi.com/blog/

Rosh Metal (BC and Alberta) http://roshmetal.com/blog/

Ruby Construction (Lancaster, PA) http://rubycon.us/blog

Sea Island Builders (South Carolina) http://seaislandbuilders.com/news

Star Service, Inc. (Louisiana) http://star-service.com/blog

Supreme Construction (Staten Island, NY) http://supreme-construction.com/blog

National and multinational contractors

Commercial Construction Blog/Hard Hat Chat (Englewood Construction) http://commercialconstructionblog.com

EllisDon http://www.ellisdon.com/news/blog

Publications and services

Better Build in the Cloud (Submittal Exchange: Texturahttp://submittalexchange.wordpress.com

Construction Data Company blog: http://constructiondatacompany.com

Construction Lien blog http://constructionlienblog.com

Construction Today blog http://blog.construction-today.com

Smart BidNet blog http://www.smartbidnet.com/blog

Today’s Facility Manager (TFM) Facility Blog http://todaysfacilitymanager.com/facilityblog

Regional and local blogs (commercial/institutional and professional)

Building Content (Collier Ward) https://twitter.com/BuildingContent

Constructionomics (John Poole) http://www.constructonomics.com/blog

GSD Contracting LLC (South Florida) http://gsdcontracting.com/construction-industry-blog/

The Lien Zone (Florida Construction Law Advisors): http://www.thelienzone.com/

Myers Constructs (Philadelphia) http://www.myersconstructs.com

Supreme Construction (Staten Island, NY) http://supreme-construction.com/blog

Unit Plant Services (U.K.) http://www.formworkhire.co.uk/news

We Shoot (Seattle) http://weshoot.com/wordpress (Photographers)

Sales and marketing resources

Building New Business (Bobby Darnellhttp://www.buildingnewbusiness.com

Bobby Darnell’s finders fee referral policy (word document)

Construction Marketing Association Blog http://www.ConstructionMarketingBlog.org

Markitecture Consulting http://markitectureconsulting.com/blog

Means of Production (Michael Conway)  http://info.means-of-production.com/blog

Software and technology

BuiltWorlds http://www.builtworlds.com/blog/

CorkCRM https://www.corkcrm.com/blog/

GenieBelt Construction Management Software Trends, Insights & Updates https://geniebelt.com/blog

JobFLEX http://www.job-flex.com/jobflex-blog

Small Builders Building Software http://info.smallbuilders.com.au/blog

SMPS members and supporters

BuiltEnvironment (Bernie Siben) http://builtenvironment.blogs.com

Cofebuz.com (Tim Klabunde) http://www.cofebuz.com

Help Everybody Everyday (Matt Handal) http://www.helpeverybodyeveryday.com

Liz Kupcha (Kupcha Marketing Services), New York http://kupchamkt.wordpress.com

The Successful Builder (Graeme Owen, New Zealand) http://www.thesuccessfulbuilder.com

The Virtual CMO:  (Craig Park) http://thevirtualcmo.com

ZweigWhite Blog:  The Board Room http://zweigwhite.blogspot.com

Technology

Conappguru.com https://conappguru.com/blog

Trades, suppliers and materials

Oldcastle Building Solutions http://www.buildingsolutions.com/industry-insights

New Life Painting http://www.newlifepainting.com

Pucuda Leading Edge (construction netting) http://resources.netting.com/blog

Steelsmith Engineered Steel Buildings http://www.steelsmithinc.com/about-us/news